Cover Photo By John David Miranda
Cover Photo By John David Miranda.

NCAA Season 96 kicks off virtual opening ceremony with new broadcast partner, GMA Network

NCAA welcomed Season 96 through an opening ceremony with the help of its new media partner, GMA Network.

By Anna Laganzon | Monday, 14 June 2021

With the help of its new broadcast partner GMA Network, the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) pushed through with the opening of its Season 96 with the theme “Rise Up Stronger” yesterday, June 13, via GMA’s GTV Channel.


“Rise Up Stronger: NCAA Season 96” exhibits the world-class potential of young Filipino student-athletes from the 10 member schools through virtual presentations led by this season's host, Colegio de San Juan de Letran, while adhering to health and safety requirements.


Season 96 Policy Board President and Colegio de San Juan de Letran’s President and Rector Fr. Clarence Victor C. Marquez, O.P., STHD officially commenced the season with his speech, emphasizing the value of this season’s theme ‘Rise Up Stronger’ amid these trying times.


“In the context of the NCAA, Season 95 got interrupted, our member schools faced difficulties in recovery and continuing, our student-athletes were forced to stay at home, [and] even challenged to train at home. But with the challenges and difficulties came opportunities and blessings. We have found a new media partner, we have found home with [the] GMA Network and now we are opening Season 96 in [a] different and better normal,” he said.


NCAA held the season’s opening ceremony in GMA Studio 7 while featuring Kapuso star artists as muses and flag bearers for the 10 member schools. 


Here’s the list of Kapuso star artists that represented each NCAA member schools:

  • Arellano University: Troy Noriega and Angela Alarcon
  • Colegio de San Juan de Letran: Mikee Quintos and Radson Flores
  • De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde: Kimson Tan and Pam Prinster
  • Emilio Aguinaldo College: Carlo Tingtungco and Ysabel Ortega
  • Jose Rizal University: Kim de Leon and Lexi Gonzales
  • Lyceum of the Philippines University: Brent Valdez and Kyline Alcantara
  • Mapua University: Gab Yabut and Ayra Mariano
  • San Beda University: Manolo Pedrosa and Crystal Paras
  • San Sebastian College Recoletos: Jamir Zabarte and Zonia Mejia
  • University of Perpetual Help System Dalta: Shaira Diaz and Jeremy Sabido


The tournaments will begin on June 14, with men's and women's Taekwondo Poomsae, followed by the Speed Kicking tournament, a new competition created by the Philippine Taekwondo Association (PTA) for NCAA Season 96.


The schedule for other sports will be available to the public after the NCAA follows the requirements issued by the Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF).


Games will be aired on GTV at 2:45 p.m. on weekdays, 4:30 p.m. on Saturdays, and 5:05 p.m. on Sundays. 


Overseas Filipinos can watch the games on GMA Pinoy TV and GMA News TV International.

Tags: NCAA 96